Workers Comp Lawyer in Washington DC

We appreciate your consideration as you search for a firm to represent your workers’ compensation claim in the District of Columbia. We would love to set up a meeting with you whether by phone, by chat or email, or in person at our office. Please don’t hesitate to contact us for a free consultation today! Below you will find answers to some of the more common questions our clients have had.

How do I file a claim?

According to District of Columbia law you must report your workplace injury to your employer and the Office of Workers’ Compensation within thirty (30) days of the date of injury or the date you have knowledge that the injury is related to your job. You must file a written claim within one (1) year of your injury in order to preserve your right to claim benefits. If you do not file with one year, you will not be able to file at all.

Can I choose my own doctor?

You have every right to choose your doctor. Even if your employer transports you to a doctor as a direct result of your injury (e.g. you are unconscious or badly injured immediately after your injury and you are taken to the Emergency Room), you still have the right to choose a primary treating physician as soon as you are physically able to make such choice. Once you decide upon a primary treating physician you may not switch physicians unless you are approved by your employer’s insurance company or the Office of Workers’ Compensation.

Are employers required to have Workers Compensation Insurance in Washington D.C.?

Yes, all businesses with one(1) or more employees are required to provide Workers Compensation Insurance for all employees.

How much compensation is paid to an injured worker?

In the District of Columbia the compensation rate is set at 66 2/3 percent of his/her average weekly wage and 100 percent of the medical expenses.

Who Will Pay My Medical Bills?

By law all of your medical expenses will be paid by your employer’s insurance company.

What is the maximum and minimum compensation rate?

As of 1/1/16, the maximum weekly rate is $1,467.46 and the minimum rate is $366.86. If your weekly wage is within this range you would then receive 66 & 2/3 percent of your weekly rate each week as compensation.


If you would like more specific information about your unique situation then please contact us!

 — Start With A Free Consultation Today —

Let’s get started with your

Free Consultation

Give us a call

* While this website provides general information, it does not constitute legal advice. The best way to get guidance on your specific legal issue is to contact a lawyer. To schedule a meeting with an attorney, please call or complete the form here.